Many former UCD players have contributed to the administration of the game at national level over the years.

PRESIDENTS OF THE IRFU (who were former players with UCD)

1936/37 - Judge Cahir Davitt

1948/49 - G P Sarsfield Hogan

1961/62 - Larry B McMahon

1967/68 - Eugene O'D Davy

1968/69 - Chris P Crowley

1972/73 - Judge J Charlie Conroy

1997/98 - Niall H Brophy

2012/13 - Billy B Glynn (insert profile from


Tom Grace


1934/42 - Sarsfield Hogan

1943/44 & 46/49 - Larry McMahon

1950/53 - J J Winters

1961/65 - Gerry O'Reilly

1975/78 - Niall Brophy

1980/83 - P J Dwyer

1984/87 - Mick Doyle


1984/87 - Mick Doyle


Members of the Club have been active in the administration of the Leinster Branch for many years.


Judge Cahir Davitt - 1930/31

Sarsfield Hogan - 1937/38

E T McCarron - 1945/46

Col J J (Nicky) Winters - 1953/54

Gerry O'Reilly - 1966/67

Brian Cross - 1980/81

Eddie Thornton

Hon Secretary

Judge J C Conroy - 1961 to 1972

Paddy Conroy - 1978 to 1988


Col J J Winters - 1954 to 1961

Ray Ryan

The only Club member to have have been appointed to the International Rugby Board was Sarsfield Hogan who was one of the Irish representatives from1946 to 1971.

The headquarters of the IRB moved to Dublin in ? and Lee Smith, one of its executives became a coach to the Club and made a significant contribution to the development of rugby in UCD.

Currently David Carrigy, a member of the Executive committee of the Club, is an executive with the IRB and Head of External and Member Relations.


Derek McGrath, who captained the Club in 1982/83, was appointed CEO of the ERC in

Principal Sponsors

Club Sponsor


Support Sponsor

Go To Top